1 800 22 7277

了解害虫

为了更有效率的消除和防治害虫,我们必须全面了解各个害虫的细胞和其生物动态。您需要知道的都在这里。

白蚁

白蚁是一种拥有阶级观念的群居昆虫。每个白蚁巢皆由一个蚁后,一个蚁王,兵蚁,工蚁,未成熟若虫和卵组成。它们都拥有相似的身体形式却各司其职。蚁后和蚁王负责繁殖后代而守卫家园的责任留给兵蚁,飞蚁则会飞出巢外交配以建造新的家园。成功生存下去 的飞蚁就会建立自己的王朝成为下一代蚁王蚁后。 工蚁是整个 白蚁群里最忙的一组,除了要築巢、 掘道、修路、 培菌、 清掃、開路同时还需要负责觅食育幼。

续篇

白蚁会通过水管道和电线系统的缝隙中潜入我们的住所。白蚁的主食是木材和含有纤维性物质的物品(例如书籍,照片,文件等)。根据资料显示马来西亚每年花费数百万元来防治白蚁,而白蚁所造成的损失与维修的费用,相较于防治,高达三倍。

床蝨

床蝨主要在晚上活动,白昼时经常隐藏在缝隙里。它们在深夜里最为活跃并在悄然的情况下觅食。人类必然是它们的首选,因为人类睡觉时皮肤容易外露,所以方便它们吸取人类的血液,而血就是它们的主食。

续篇

床蝨会引发皮肤敏感如皮肤红肿和皮肤发炎。被床蝨叮咬的人们会因为瘙痒而睡眠不足或患上恐虫症。如果您发现床上出现一点一点的血迹,粪便斑点,铸造皮肤或卵壳就代表您的住宿已被床蝨入侵,严重的话还会导致家里散发出一股臭味。

蚂蚁

在22,000蚂蚁种类中,只有12,000种被鉴定出来。 被鉴定出来的通常很容易从它们独特的触角和身体结构识别它们的品种而只有1%的品种被人类鉴定为害虫。当蚂蚁侵入室内筑巢时,它们可能会造成更严重的困扰。

续篇

有些蚂蚁的品种和白蚁很相似,被称为木匠蚁。 这类型的蚂蚁会严重损害您的房屋,因为它们有能力一点一点地破坏房屋的结构。 如果不即时消灭的话,会造成食物污染和电线短路。 此外,类似“法老蚁”品种的蚂蚁是会咬人的,留下疼痛,瘙痒和红肿的痕迹。

蟑螂

在马来西亚常见的蟑螂有三种 - 美洲蟑螂,德國蟑螂和棕帶蟑螂。 美洲家蠊通常在排水系统,污水池和地板裂缝中可寻觅。德国蟑螂被视为 “有钱人” 因为它们的繁殖地和栖息地点都选择在食品店、 饮料店或酒店。棕帶蟑螂则通常出没在车类或潮湿的地方。只要有水源,一般蟑螂可以长达一周不进食。它们的生命周期有三个阶段 - 卵巢(卵)到小蟑螂,最后成大蟑螂。每个卵巢可孕育出大约14-44只小蟑螂。

续篇

蟑螂本身是不会导致特定的疾病,但因为它们身上带着数百万细菌所以很容易传达各种疾病,特别是腹泻和食物中毒。蟑螂也会引起过敏反应 - 它们的唾液分泌和身体部位含有数百种能让人过敏的源头,可引发身体不适, 包括皮疹,打喷嚏和眼睛过敏。

蚊子

雌性,它们具有特殊管状口器,称为长鼻, 用于穿透人类的皮肤以吸取血液; 而雄性,靠植物花蜜为生。 在马来西亚常见的蚊类有黑班蚊,库蚊和按蚊。蚊子的生命周期为4个阶段 - 卵,幼虫,蛹和成蚊,每个蚊子的寿命大约5-15天之间, 取决于品种。 对于黑班蚊,它们的寿命持续大约8-10天,通常在干净的积水中孵化。

续篇

黑斑蚊是有致命危害性的害虫,它们会引发骨痛热症。骨痛热症会损害人类身体的免疫系统并且可能导致生命危险。 蚊子还携带其他病毒,如寨卡和基孔肯雅病毒,通过叮咬传播病毒。

苍蝇

苍蝇有很多品种,最常见的有家蝇,果子蝇,丝光绿蝇和蓝瓶苍蝇。 解剖学中它们最独特的部分是复眼,拥有数千个视觉受体,给他们提供了广阔的视野。 它们的口器(通常是家蝇) 用于在被其唾液分化后做清理食物的功能。

续篇

苍蝇是带菌的昆虫,身上的细菌会给人带来各种病毒和疾病, 如霍乱,结膜炎,沙門氏菌感染症和结核病。 这些细菌可通过空气传播或与食物接触传播, 这可能导致食物中毒和腹泻。

老鼠

在马来西亚常见的老鼠有两种 - 褐家鼠和屋顶鼠。大鼠大约21天长大成熟并且能够进行交配。虽然老鼠通常被称为肮脏的生物,但实际上它们会像猫一样,通过舔舐自己的身体来清理自己。 油性的毛发会让老鼠留下涂抹的痕迹以容易被发现。 我们可以通过老鼠的粪便数量来估计老鼠的侵染程度或数量。

续篇

老鼠尿液可造成钩端螺旋体病,此病会导致人类主要器官衰竭而引发死亡。 此外,老鼠也会透过啃咬对人类和家庭用品造成危害。

鸟类

当鸟类的栖息地受到干扰时,它们会迁移并在高处或食物丰富、光线充足、有很好的隐蔽条件地方筑巢以保护他们的幼鸟。 有时它们也会在阁楼,甲板,门廊,棚屋或烟囱这类地方筑巢。

续篇

鸟类有关的疾病通常和带菌的鸽子,椋鸟和麻雀有关,例如组织胞浆菌病,念珠菌症,隐球菌病,大肠杆菌和沙门氏菌感染症。 这类细菌是通过干枯了的鸟粪传达的,也可导致皮肤,口腔和呼吸系统类似的疾病。带菌的鸟粪若掉入食物或任何水源上都有机会导致食品,住所和食品加工厂受到污染。

1 800 22 7277

Understanding Pests

In order to effectively treat and control pests, it is crucial to understand each individual organism and its biology.
Here's what you need to know.

Termites

Termites are social insects that practise the Caste System. Each colony consists of a queen, a king, soldiers, workers, alates and immatures (nymphs and eggs). Each of the caste members share similar body forms but separate and specific tasks. The queen and king are tasked for reproduction and egg-laying while the soldiers defend the colony from enemies. Alates will take part in swarming in order to mate and build new colonies. Successful survivors will be the future king and queen of the new or sub-colony. Workers are the busiest group who maintain, construct and repair the nest and mud trail and at the same time forage for food to feed the colony members.

Consequences

Termites usually enter into our premises through cracks and crevices, following piping and electrical systems. Termites forage for food from any item that contains cellulose i.e. books, photos, documents and more. It has been projected that Malaysia spends millions per year on termite management and the total repair cost for damages is approximately threefold of the total termite control cost.

Bed Bugs

Bed bugs are mainly active at night, but are not exclusively nocturnal and often hide inside cracks and crevices during the daytime. They are most active late at night and feed on their hosts without being noticed. Humans are their preferred hosts as it is easiest to feed on their bare skin while they are sleeping, with blood as their main source of food.

Consequences

Bed bug bites may cause allergic reactions such as irritation and inflamation of the skin. People lose sleep due to entomophobia (fear of insects) or have poor quality sleep because of itchiness caused by the bites. You may notice the presence of bed bugs through blood stains as well as their faecal spots, egg cases and cast skin, and even an unpleasant odour if the infestation is heavy.

Ants

Out of 22,000 species of ants, only 12,000 have been identified. They are easily identified by their elbowed antennae and distinctive node-like structure that forms their slender waists. Only 1% of the species are considered pests in the human environment. Ants can be severe irritants when they invade buildings and indoor spaces for food and nesting purposes.

Consequences

There are ant species similar to termites, which are carpenter ants. This type of ant can significantly damage your home as they are capable of destroying a house's structure bit by bit. Other side effects of untreated ant infestations include food contamination and wiring short circuits. In addition, species like pharaoh ants bite and leave painful, itchy and sometimes swollen marks on the skin.

Cockroaches

There are three species of cockroaches commonly seen in Malaysia – American, German and Brown-banded, with the American cockroach usually sighted in drainage systems, sewage tanks and flooring traps. German cockroaches are also known as “rich man” cockroaches due to their common breeding grounds and habitats being Food & Beverage outlets and hotels. Brown-banded roaches are those usually found crawling in and out of vehicles, inhabiting and breeding in moist and damp areas. An average cockroach can live up to a week without food, so long as they have a water source. Their life cycle comprises of three stages – ootheca (egg) to nymph and finally adult. A single ootheca can easily produce 14-44 nymphs.

Consequences

There is no specific disease directly brought on by cockroaches, but they are known carriers of millions of bacteria and infectious agents that can lead to an array of diseases, particularly diarrhoea and food poisoning. Cockroaches can also cause allergies – their saliva secretion and body parts contain hundreds of allergens that can trigger undesirable reactions including skin rashes, sneezing and watery eyes.

Mosquitoes

Mosquitoes are classified into two categories – the females, which have special tube-like mouthparts called proboscis used to penetrate hosts' skin to feed on their blood, and the males who solely seek plant nectar as a food source. Species that are commonly seen in Malaysia are Aedes, Culex and Anopheles. The life cycle of an average mosquito comprises of 4 stages – egg, larvae, pupa and adult, with each mosquito's lifespan being between 5-15 days depending on species. For Aedes, they last approximately 8-10 days and usually hatch in clean, stagnant water.

Consequences

Aedes mosquitoes are known to be dangerous to humans as they cause dengue fever, which damages the body's immune system and can be fatal. Mosquitoes also carry other viruses such as Zika and Chikungunya, transmitting them to humans through bites.

Flies

There are many species of flies, more common ones include the housefly, fruit fly, green bottle fly and blue bottle fly. The most unique part of their anatomy is their compound eyes with thousands of individual visual receptors, giving them a broad field of vision. Their mouthparts (commonly for houseflies) are used for mopping up food parts after being liquified by their saliva.

Consequences

Flies are hazardous insects that carry bacteria, viruses and diseases that can affect human health such as Cholera, Conjunctivitis, Salmonellosis and Tuberculosis. These bacteria are transmitted by flies either airborne or from contact with food, which can result in food poisoning and diarrhea.

Rats

There are two species of rats that are commonly seen in Malaysia – Norway Rat and Roof Rat. For a rat to mature and to be able to mate, it needs approximately 21 days. Though rats are commonly known as dirty creatures, they actually groom themselves by licking their bodies, just like cats. However, their fur is usually oily, which makes them easy to detect when they leave smear marks. Their droppings are also an indicator, and rat infestation levels or population can be gauged based on the amount of droppings.

Consequences

Rats can cause the disease known as Leptospirosis, which comes from the bacteria Leptospira that they carry and transmit through their urine. Leptospirosis is deadly as it causes failure of major organs, which leads to death. In addition, rats cause damage to humans and household items through biting.

Birds

When birds' habitat is disturbed, they will tend to migrate and nest elsewhere, usually in high places that provide ample shelter from weather elements to protect their young. Sometimes they may invade homes in areas like attics, decks, porches, sheds and chimneys.

Consequences

Bird-related diseases are often associated with pigeons, starlings and house sparrows that carry fungi and bacteria such as Histoplasmosis, Candidiasis, Cryptococcosis, Escherichia coli (E.coli) and Salmonellosis. These fungi and bacteria are a result of dried bird droppings and can lead to diseases that affect the skin, mouth and respiratory system. Dust from bird droppings can land on food and water supplies and can also contaminate food and cooking surfaces in restaurants, homes and food processing plants.